I am …

I’m an insecure person, and compare myself to others. I’ll say things like “man, that guy has it all together – I’m not even close.”
I’ve caused hurt feelings, deep scars and perhaps even someone’s distaste for Jesus.
Anger can tend to overwhelm me “Seriously!!… Use your freakin turn signal … Go the speed limit … I cant believe they would do that“
I don’t like being patient.
I need to be reminded that lust is no different than adultery.
I don’t always treat my wife like a daughter of the King.
I have evil thoughts about other people.
There are dark corners of my heart that hopes that someone else won’t succeed.
I’m greedy and there are times I wish I was born into wealth so that material things came easily.
Dark thoughts tell me that I haven’t accomplished much, that I’ve failed miserably at so many things.
I hear the slight whisper that tells me “your identity is fixed on what you do/have done … the amount of school you have completed … the success of your ministry…”
I’m often afraid … of failing … of not providing for or being who I need to be for my family.
Sometimes people would never know that I was chasing after Jesus.
Sometimes I think it would be easier to love money … lust after things of this world … be your own god.

I say: “It’s impossible.” God says: All things are possible.
(Luke 18:27)

I say: “I’m too tired.” God says: I will give you rest.
(Matthew 11:28-30)

I say: “Nobody really loves me.” God says:I love you.
(John 3:16)

I say: “I can’t go on.” God says: My grace is sufficient.
(II Corinthians 12:9 & Psalm 91:15)

I say: “I can’t figure things out.” God says: I will direct your steps.
(Proverbs 3:5-6 & Proverbs 16:9)

I say: “I can’t do it.” God says: You can do all things.
(Philippians 4:13)

I say: “I’m not able.” God says: I am able.
(II Corinthians 9:8)

I say: “It’s not worth it.” God says: It will be worth it.
(Romans 8:28)

I say: “I can’t forgive myself.” God says: I FORGIVE YOU!
(I John 1:9 & Romans 8:1)

I say: “I can’t manage.” God says: I will supply all your needs.
(Philippians 4:19)

I say: “I’m afraid.” God says: I have not given you a spirit of fear.
(II Timothy 1:7, Isaiah 41:10)

I say: “I’m always worried and frustrated.” God says: Cast all your cares on ME.
(I Peter 5:7)

I say: “I don’t have enough faith.” God says: I’ve given everyone a measure of faith.
(Romans 12:3)

I say: “I’m not smart enough.” God says: I give you wisdom.
(I Corinthians 1:30)

I say: “I feel all alone.” God says: I will never leave you or forsake you.
(Hebrews 13:5)

God’s answer to all of my “I am’s” is I AM…
He is ALL. He made ALL things, holds ALL things together, and is my ALL
“He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.” – 1 Peter 2:24

Jesus is the ONLY good in me … and when I get in the way, I fail my relationships, lead poorly, and gain nothing.

Today, my prayer is that I live in the truth that I have been healed … and that Christ is my ALL.

-E

Comments
2 Responses to “I am …”
  1. dscott says:

    dude, i miss ur grill… and love ur heart!

  2. David Stone says:

    Eric, such a great post! I concur with dscott–miss you very much! So encouraged by your writing and resonate with it so much.

Leave a Reply

