Wednesday is for … my wife.

Let me introduce you to a wonderful woman.  My wife, Kelly! ( you can check out her blog here: www.barbericwife.blogspot.com)

It’s amazing to me to stop and think back about the faithfulness of the Lord to see how He intricately wove our lives together.  Such a patchwork of experiences and grace and mercy … and I am counting my blessings.  So thankful.

I asked Kelly a few questions for the draft of another blog that I was working on but never published, so I’ll use some of those answers today.

Let’s start simple … not too deep or anything! (My questions will be in BLACK and her responses will be in RED.)

What’s your favorite color? Green! (I really feel like that should have been colored green but I had already said her responses would be red …)

Where do you work?  Chick Fil A and on the Student Ministry Team for the Missouri Baptist Convention.

Most of my “readers” (all 5-10 of you) know that I’m all about CFA … what is your favorite thing on the menu? My most common meal is a Chargrilled filet with provolone cheese and a large fruit cup.  But, we just got chicken tortilla soup this week, and it is SO good!  I’d recommend adding a bowl of that to your next order too!

What is your favorite thing to do in your leisure time?  Hang out with my husband (I didn’t make that up, she really did say it!)

What is your favorite song at the moment?  All I have is Christ by Sovereign Grace Music (you can check it out below!)

What are you currently reading?  Life Interrupted by Priscilla Shirer

What is your fondest childhood memory?  … I don’t know.  I had a great childhood, but not sure what sticks out as favorite.  Sometimes when I was little I would think about going to Silver Dollar City to help make myself fall to sleep.  So I guess I enjoyed that quite a bit!

What has been your favorite vacation?  Honeymoon in Hawaii (it was the company I’m sure).

What’s the one thing that you would want people to know about you?   Who Jesus is in my life.  What He has done, what He continues to do.

Seriously, I am one blessed man.  She is an amazing woman.  For our wedding, we wrote our own vows.  Here is a small excerpt from mine:

I love you.  I love hearing about how God has worked in your life and seeing how He continues to do so, I love your passion for people, I love how easy it is to talk with you, I love your crooked little smile, and I love the way you laugh “with” me. 

All of those things were true then, and remain true today.  I’m reminded of these things everyday as we laugh together (sometimes we really do laugh together, and sometimes she still laughs “with” me … even though I’m not laughing), as we talk about what God is doing in our lives, talk about the future, as I see her smile … and I was reminded of one of my most favorite things about her last night as she was in the other room discipling/mentoring 3 incredible young women that God has crossed our paths with during our time here at SEMO.  Kelly loves people, and has a desire to encourage young women in life and in their faith, and that is an incredible attribute that the Lord has placed in her.

Kel, thank you for saying yes.  Thank you for walking beside me for these first 14 months of the rest of our lives.  Thank you for encouraging me, supporting me, loving me, and putting up with me!  I cannot thank God enough for you.

Another thing about Kelly is that she is so modest and humble and would never draw attention to herself, so I wanted to let those of you that don’t know her too well yet, and the world know how incredible she really is.

Love you babe. TTMAB

And come on … isn’t she gorgeous?

-E

Leave a Reply

