Monday is for … music.

One of the pastors I used to serve with “categorized” his blog posts based on the day/theme … often it was “Monday is for … missions” or “Friday is for … friends”.  I think this may give me a better springboard for some of my posts.  Not that it will be the same every week, or that I’ll only post things about certain topics on certain days, but it is a good place for me to get started.

So, today is music.  It should be no surprise to those who know me that I love music, always have and always will.  Whether it was the “rappin’ clappin’ finger snappin'” quartet that my brother and I were part of in elementary school that started my love of music or something else, there is definitely a thread all throughout my life that has included music.  Band, choir and show choir in high school, New Dawn traveling praise team in college, 7 1/2 incredible years with some of my best friends in the world in No Longer Quiet, serving as a worship minister, and now being able to participate in the choir and praise team with our church.  It is a part of me, that is for sure.

So, I thought I’d just share a few things that I’ve been listening to lately.  First this song was sang by our worship pastors wife on Sunday morning, which has caused me to be listening to Christy Nockels all morning, and it led me straight back to my “vocal crush” on Christy.  I love her voice, and this song encompasses every prayer and declaration that I have for my life moving into 2012.

Also, an incredible opportunity that our church choir was able to be a part of in November was a concert with Travis Cottrell.  Travis came with his band and a few vocalists and our choir had the privilege to sing behind them for an amazing night of worship.  The spirit was so rich in the building that night, and lives  were changed for eternity with some coming to know the Lord for the first time.  If you don’t know about him, he has led worship for Beth Moore conferences for years, and serves as worship pastor in Tennessee.  You can find our more about him at http://www.traviscottrell.com … or click the photo below to check out his music.  We sang several songs off of this cd:

So those are a couple things that I have been listening to lately . . .

What are your “must hear” artists?

What songs can you not get off of repeat?

-E

Comments
One Response to “Monday is for … music.”
  1. David Stone says:

    Thanks for the link love, my friend! I need to get back on the wagon of posting regularly again. Maybe this will give me that incentive. Always enjoy checking in with you through this blog, twitter, and facebook.

Leave a Reply

