BBC (Barb Body Challenge) update…

So a week ago I posted about being challenged by Carlos Whittaker at Ragamuffinsoul.com regarding this time of year where schedules not only get busy because of school, work, holidays, etc, but that they are also filled with copious amounts of food and sweets and all of that “good stuff.”  So he challenged anyone who would join him to work for the 30 days between Thanksgiving and Christmas on their personal health on 3 levels … Physical, Spiritual and Relational.  You can refer back to my last post to see the 3 goals that I set for myself during the “Barb Body Challenge” … I thought it needed a fancy name … sounds more important that way 🙂 .

Here’s my update:

Physical: I’m still doing pretty good on my workouts … I’ve moved into the 2nd section of P90X which means new workouts, which means variety, which means its fresh and ‘exciting’ to do something new.  The eating part … I’m doing ok.  I’ve cut out most fried foods (for now) and I’m trying to be more conscious of what I’m eating.  However, I’ve had the opportunity to host a few different groups at the house for dinner and such, and although I love doing that, I don’t necessarily cook the healthiest foods for those, and seem to always have leftovers … so still working on getting better at that!

Spiritual: I’ve made it through the first verse of the 5 that I selected to memorize during the challenge.  My list includes several verses dealing with things that God has been teaching me lately … many of them are familiar verses, and ones that I know … but have never taken the chance to intentionally work on memorizing … This week was Galatians 2:20 “I have been cricified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Relational: Since Thanksgiving I’ve had the chance to see and/or talk to a couple of my good friends.  The last week I’ve had 2 really good conversations with friends over the phone that I hadn’t visited with in a while, and it was so good to talk with them that it made me wonder why I wasn’t better at keeping in touch with people, and made me excited to make some phone calls and talk with other friends!

This semester has flown by so quickly, but it has been an amazing time for me.  I’m learning so much, and being challenged in new ways.  I shared with my family over Thanksgiving that it felt like I had a very “adult job” now, but I catch myself sometimes thinking that it’s really cool that I get paid to do something that I enjoy so much.  I’m blessed that God counted me worthy of such a position, and pray every day that He would live through me, because I know that I cannot do this on my own!

Hope everyone is doing well!

-E

Leave a Reply

