you’ve been waiting I’m sure ….

Well, maybe the handful of you that read this thing haven’t been clinging to the edge of your seats over the last month waiting for me to post something again (well, maybe you Hayward … 🙂 ) But, lots has happened, especially over the last 2 weeks, so I thought I would post a new update and let those of you who read this, and don’t already know, in on what’s going on in my life right now.

I posted this on my facebook last week:

Let the ambiguity cease… I know that I’ve been pretty un-clear with some of you about what is next for me, and I’ve been keeping to myself a little bit trying to not be presumptuous or get too excited until I had a more certain answer, BUT ….

I received a call today from the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Baptist Student Union at Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau offering me the position of Campus Missionary/BSU Director, and I said yes. This was an opportunity that first came to my attention this summer, and through lots of prayer, discussions, and an interview process … the decision has been made. I’ll be officially starting in September.

I’m very excited for the opportunity, I feel like this is something that the Lord has been preparing me for. In addition to being excited I’m also a little overwhelmed at the task in front of me. It is a great responsibility to reach college students, disciple them, and to impact a campus for Christ, but I know that God is faithful, and He will continue to lead as I surrender to follow!

I can’t thank you enough for your prayers … some of you were able to pray specifically, and some had to pray more generically because I didn’t give up any details, but I’m thankful for all of them! I am blessed to have friends like you all who love and show such great support. And, trust me, I’ll be keeping in touch and asking that you continue to pray as I do take the next steps into leading this ministry at SEMO.

The time line looks like this for me… I’ll travel to Cape next week to look for and secure a place to live. While I’m there, I’ll attend the first weekly service/meeting of the BSU for the semester and be introduced as the new campus missionary/BSU director. Then, I’ll travel to St. Joseph for a conference on Friday and Saturday, and then back to Springfield on Sunday to continue to pack and get ready to move, which will hopefully take place early that week. It is going to be a crazy couple of weeks, but like I said before, I’m excited.

So, thank you for your prayers. Continue to pray that I listen intently to God as He continues to lead in this, and that the transition period over the next couple weeks goes smoothly!

Well, I’ve been in Cape Girardeau for a few days this week trying to find a place to live, and looked at SEVERAL today, and hopefully have found one that I can get into. I’ll hopefully hear back from the leasing agent tomorrow. In the meantime, there are opening week activities every night sponsored by the BSU this week. I was able to hang out with them last night at their game night and will be with them again this evening for their “sports night” with sand volleyball, frisbee, football, etc. It has been good to get to meet and begin getting to know some of the students, and meeting the student leadership that is already in place. Tomorrow night is our first worship service for the semester and I’ll be addressing the students for the first time. I’m excited, and nervous at the same time. I’m pretty sure I’m landing on the passage about the woman at the well and the end of 2 Cor. 5.

One thing that I’ve been encouraged to do lately is to put together a personal prayer support team. I know that many of you who read this already are praying for me, and I am SO thankful for that, but in the near future I’ll likely be putting together a team who I can count on to pray specifically for me as I move forward in my personal life and in my new leadership position with the BSU.

For now, I need to get going. I’m so thankful for the way God has been working in and through my life over these last few months, and blessed to have friends and family like you to walk with me through all of this!

More updates soon I hope!

-E

Comments
2 Responses to “you’ve been waiting I’m sure ….”
  1. J.K. Rust says:

    Welcome to Cape Girardeau. It’s a great town.

  2. Leslie says:

    How exciting! Congratulations… we will pray for this journey in your life.

Leave a Reply

