A lot…

A lot … has been going on since I’ve last updated. Seems like I’m not getting to write as many of these as I’d like to, but every time I feel like I have time to write something, its late, and I’d just rather get to bed. So, lucky for you (or un-lucky if you don’t like reading my ramblings), I had the rest of the evening for Saturday off, and am taking the time to write a little something …

Well, first off “big” news … I’ve reached 5,000 visits to my blog! I know that may not seem like a big deal, and I’m not doing this for fame or to gather a following or anything, but I was impressed at over 5,000 individual/first time visits to my blog since I started back around November.

Okay, now to some REALLY big news. I can’t say with certainty yet, and therefore must be vague with the details, but it looks like I may have a job lined up for the fall. Things have really come together for that in the last couple of weeks, and I’ve had a couple of really great conversations about it in the last week. Honestly, it kinda scares me to death, but God has really given me a peace about pursuing the opportunity, which has to be from Him because left to myself, I wouldn’t think that I could do this! So, hopefully soon I’ll be able to share more details about that!

We had an amazing time in St. Louis. We arrived there on the 9th of July to prepare for the students arrival the next day. Friday, Saturday and Sunday were spent in training and preparation for the groups to be out on the mission field starting on Monday. Each church/youth group that came was paired up with an inner-city church or location at which they were going to run a Vacation Bible School or Back Yard Bible Club type of ministry. I was put into a group of 3 ministries that were partnered with 15th Street Baptist Church in East St. Louis. It was definitely eye opening. Just a few years ago, the place where we were serving in East St. Louis was one of the top 2 poorest zip codes in the entire United States! Sometimes it is easy to forget that some people right here in our “back yard” live with so little. It wasn’t un-common for us to knock on a door to invite kids to the VBS where there would be anywhere from 7-20 kids in one home/apartment, etc. often from a couple different families. Anyhow, we had a lot of success with our Vacation Bible School and at least 7 kids made professions of faith in Jesus Christ for the first time that week!
The people at 15th Street were great! I got to visit with one of the deacons there name Joulius. He was a man in his late 60’s early 70’s who had graduated with an undergraduate degree in Political Science, studied Law at Harvard and taught law at Southern Illinois University for 26 years. The entire time he was teaching at SIU, he still lived in East St. Louis trying to reach the community and trying to do all that he could to give them more opportunities. He was part of the team that got the public commuter train to come across the river so that people in their community could have transportation to the city and be able to get jobs there. He also wrote the grants that are being used to build new/nicer housing complexes to promote a better community. He was a really cool guy.

The group of interns this summer have realized that we have a lot of things in common as far as our interests go. All of us are musicians of some sort, piano players, guitar players, percussion, vocalists, etc. We all enjoy the artistic side of things ranging again from music to photography to painting, etc. Which brings me to my next topic. Tomorrow we’ll all be painting together! It came to us a while back that we should have a day where we each buy a canvas and just paint … so that idea transformed into us picking a Bible verse as our inspiration and then everyone is going to paint whatever they are inspired to based on that scripture verse. Our verse is Psalm 19:14 “May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing to You o Lord my Rock and my Redeemer.” Hopefully I’ll be able to post some pictures of our artwork soon!

I continue to learn SO much this summer as I spend quality time with the Lord, and as we continue to encourage one another on our team as we share what we’re learning and as we continue to walk through “Master Plan of Evangelism.” Sometimes it feels a little bit like trying to take a drink from a fire hydrant, but God has been so faithful in teaching us this summer, and is speaking to us in specific ways. This is one of those experiences that is going to continue to take a while to process, and will be hard to explain to people everything that this summer was for me … but if I get the chance, I’ll sure try.

Okay, that’s going to be it for tonight … I’m tired. I’m still training for the marathon in October, and I had to run 12 miles this morning. . . my legs are sore and I’m tired so I’m going to bed! Blessings to you all!
-E

Comments
One Response to “A lot…”
  1. Jill says:

    Anxious to read an update of what this fall may entail!!! Glad things are going well… can’t believe how fast the summer has gone. Miss seeing you! Let me know when you’re in town and we can all get together again!
    Jill

Leave a Reply

