here comes week one of camp…

This past week was spent in preparation for our first week of Super Summer camp, which will be at the SBU campus in Bolivar starting Monday.
So far this weekend we had training for the Super Summer Small Group Leaders. The leaders all showed up for the Friday-Saturday training on Friday evening, and we completed training last night. It was a good time for the teams to all get together, begin to get to know one another and for them to start making plans for camp this coming week. I was given the awesome privilege of leading worship for this training. I love doing that, and honestly am always stunned and honored when I’m asked to do that. It was fun though. I led and had my new friend AJ (who is one of the interns I am working with this summer) played guitar with me as well.
This morning the rest of the crew headed over to Bolivar to get things set up on the campus, however, I stayed behind to help lead worship for church here in Jefferson City (our church meets in the evening) and will head to Bolivar tonight after our service.

I could go on about the details of what is going ON here(which I’m sure have you sitting on the edge of your chair) but I won’t. Instead I’ll share a little about what God has been doing IN my life in the last few weeks:
I think God is making some major changes in my life. My perspective is changing, my attitude towards God and those things that are in opposition to Him and His Word are changing, I’m learning a greater dependence on Him, I’m longing for the Word every day, I’m learning more about what discipleship is and looks like, I’m starting to have new dreams and goals for life (albeit vague at the moment), and I’m learning to live every day (and trying to live every moment) looking ahead, toward the return of Christ which is why I live, and longing for that time to come and to be able to hear “well done …”. Life changes a lot when you put thoughts, actions, behaviors, etc through that filter. Priorities change. Things that once seemed important now find their way to the back of the line, and the things that really matter come into view.
I’m excited for this journey … life, and for whatever it is that God has in store for me. I wish I was in a place to say that I knew where that would be in the next 2-3 months, but I don’t right now, and I’m okay with that, b/c I know that for right now, I’m exactly where God wants me to be, and I trust Him totally that He will show me the next step.

Side note:
I sprained my ankle a few weeks ago, and this week was the first time I had run since then … I’ve done 15 miles this week, and our official training for the Chicago marathon starts this coming Tuesday!!! Only 4 months away until the big race and running 26.2 miles for Africa!

-E

Comments
2 Responses to “here comes week one of camp…”
  1. Jill says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated Eric! I enjoy reading about what’s happening in your world, and in your life. Great reminder for all of us.
    Hope camp week is going well!!
    Talk soon~
    Jill

  2. Fran says:

    Hey – checked in from across the big pond and good to see an update. I am glad to hear of all the great things God is doing in your life. Stay strong and we are going to be anxious to catch up with you at the ned of the summer. Its going to be a PARTY!!!

Leave a Reply

