taken for granted…

I’ve done it for far too long,

spent my days with ne’er a consideration for you.

I’ve pushed with my own power,

and carried responsibility upon my shoulders.

I’ve taken You for granted.

I pass them on the street,

in the store, and at work.

Without even a second thought

about the emptiness inside them.

Because I’ve taken you for granted.

You, Oh Lord, are my strength,

my life, my reason.

You have placed ALL OF WHO YOU ARE

within my heart, and how do I repay you?

I take you for granted.

You care about the smallest details of my day,

where I will sleep, what I will eat.

You lead me, guide me protect me,

yet somehow, I miss the miracle in that.

Because I take you for granted.

Your promises are endless, but instead of claiming them,

I use them to fall back on.

Your word is truth,

but I only surrender to it in my “time of need.”

I take you for granted.

So Lord, today I stop!

I open my eyes to who You are.

I look with expectancy

to see where you are at work.

I will not take you for granted.

I will praise you as I prepare for the day

for another breath, another opportunity to see Your glory.

I will sit at the dinner table

with thanksgiving for what you have provided.

I will not take you for granted.

I will look into the eyes of those I meet

with love and sincerity.

I will share about Your undying love

because I know what You’ve done for me.

I will not take you for granted.

I will live, truly live

because I’ve spent far too long simply existing.

I will die to myself today,

all because of who You are, and for Your glory.

And I will NOT take you for granted.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

