hymns

I’ve been listening to a lot of hymns lately. As a worship leader, I’m always keeping an ear out for good, worshipful music/lyrics.  Don’t get me wrong, I am a huge fan of a lot of the current worship songs, but they seldom match the eloquence of the hymns from my childhood and beyond.

I grew up singing these songs, but took the beauty of the words for granted as I sang with the lack of a truly conscious reverence.  If you stop to listen to and truly meditate on some of these songs, you’ll see how truly rich they are.

Having said that, I guess I’m a sucker for someone who  can take these hymns and give them a little personal touch as they present their versions.  Now, I’ve also heard some of these GREAT hymns completely butchered, and un-recognizable . . . that’s not what I’m talking about here.  I grew up in a traditional Southern-Baptist Church, so I know what these hymns “sound like”, so I think it’s refreshing to hear someones interpretation on the original.  Here are a few that I’ve been enjoying recently:

Jadon Lavik: Roots Run Deep

jadon-lavik

Chris Rice: Peace Like a Riverchrisricecover

What are your favorite hymns/lyrics?

Comments
2 Responses to “hymns”
  1. Hayward Barnett says:

    Eric…I decided about two years ago that I should get acquainted with Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) instead of bad mouthing it. As such I began a plan of action that might help me appreciate it. My first step was to purchase a album featuring a CCM group which in my case, Caedmon’s Call’s, Share the Well. Knowing that I would not be able to follow the lyrics, I downloaded the lyrics which enabled me to follow along and hear the words. Over the next few months I purchased other albums by the same artists. While I have not becomed a fan of CCM, I have at least made an effort to become acquainted.

    As for congregational singing in worship and my experience I offer these observations. In comparison, I think traditional hyms are a tremendous source of teaching theology….all areas of theoloogy, not just praise to God. Hymns are the place, other than the Bible, that most theology is learned.

    Second, I find the praise songs to difficult to sing and do not lend themselves to congregational singing. Also there does not seem bo be a melody or tune to the song. Some people like to sing a hymn away from the church or humm the song while they are doing something else or jus sitting doing their devotions unaccompanyed. I find it hard to do this with prise songs. I have found that the way I handle some of these issues is simply to close my eyes or concentrate on the projected words on the screen and try to get the message.

    Thanks for listening.

    HB

  2. johanna says:

    my favorite hymns…i stand amazed, it is well with my soul (in memory of my dad) and there is a fountain, and how great thou art…when we all get to heaven…i cd go on…but these are the ones that come to mind right away…

Leave a Reply

