Retreat, then revival, and rest

This weekend is going to be a busy one for me, but to God be the glory!  I sometimes can’t believe that I can use something that I love so much (music) to serve, and honestly I am baffled and humbled every time someone asks me if I would be interested in leading at an event or service for them.

I was asked a while back to lead worship for a youth retreat weekend at another church here in Springfield.  So, I’ll be spending some time with some pretty cool kids on this Friday and Saturday evenings leading worship for their retreat services.  I’m excited because I was very involved with this church while I was in college, and now some of the kids that were in my classes/Bible studies are all grown-up and are leaders now, so it will be good to be part of a weekend of ministering along side them now!  Super cool.

Then, church on Sunday morning.

Then, I am traveling to another church to help lead worship for their revival services on Sunday evening and Monday evening. This is going to be an exciting time, because I am going to be able to lead with some of my closest friends, and it has been a long time since we’ve all been together and led together.

So, looking forward to my weekend, I look at it and I see all the travel and energy and investment that will be put into people, and I feel like I’m already getting worn out!  However, I realize that I cannot do anything in my own power, so this weekend I will just rest.  Rest in Him for His grace is sufficient for me.  Rest in Him and trust that He will provide the right words to say, songs to sing, and all the energy needed to do it all.

How’s your weekend shaping up?

Comments
One Response to “Retreat, then revival, and rest”
  1. Julia says:

    Hi,
    this is weird. I don’t usually contact strangers on the internet but I guess we’re somewhat family members in Jesus…
    I saw that you are listening to Christy Nockel’s CD “A few days in february”. I am really wanting to get this music and I can’t find it anywhere on the internet…. weird. I thought maybe you could give me a hint.
    Have a great week and God bless.
    Julia (from Germany btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

