Two dollars…

There is a little cafe in our store and I spent $2 on my breakfast this morning … pretty good right?  I mean I got a whole plate of biscuits and gravy and a drink. Pretty cheap meal anyway.

Well, when I got to the church today I was confronted with a reality that I am preparing to experience in person in December.  I came across some information on Mali West Africa today that took me back just a little:

In 2006 the United Nations Development Program did a study on 177 countries, and Mali ranked 175th out of 177 obviously making it one of the world’s poorest countries.

The population of Mali in 2003 was 11.6 million people.  In that same year the national average YEARLY income was equivalent to $290.

75% of people there live on less than $1 a day.

90% of people live on less than $2 a day.

I didn’t even think twice about it as I ate my $2 breakfast this morning, but to consider that 10.5 million people in Mali are living on less than the cost of my breakfast today FORCES me to think about it.

It causes me to be so thankful and to realize how blessed I am to live in the US, to have been afforded the things that I have, but it also challenges me to think about what am I doing with my wealth?  How am I making a difference for those who are less fortunate around me?  Am I being a good steward of the resources that have been given to me?

If I didn’t pay for breakfast at the store on the mornings that I work I could save approximately $520/year … that is almost 2 times the average national income in Mali, could send nearly 40 orphans to school for a year at my friends ministry in Sudan …

Here’s an interesting website … go, type in your annual income and see where you rank on the Global Rich List.

I’m the 569,942,529 richest person on earth!


Discover how rich you are! >>

We’re stinking rich huh? What is something you can with your wealth?

Leave a Reply

