Seasons…

Ephesians 3:17b-21
And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.
I became a “runner” a couple years ago.  And by runner, I mean that when I first started, I sometimes went outside and went around the block a few times at a pace a little faster than a walk, and eventually worked up to finishing the Chicago half marathon last year.  But I just enjoy getting out of the house and living.  There is something about the fresh air, the rhythmic thump on the ground as my feet fall against the pavement.  It clears my mind of all the clutter and brings me to a point where my senses are more aware, and my thoughts are clear.

I often run the same route down by the Nature Center, and over several weeks during the beginning of last fall, and even over the last few weeks, I’ve watched as the leaves on the trees along the route start to change colors.  From bright green leaves full of life and offering a canopy of shade from the sun to a myriad of brilliant shades of yellow, orange and red, announcing the change of seasons.  Then something strange though . . . as the days passed I begin to notice the vivid colors had faded, the once beautiful leaves were now dull and brown and falling from the branches they had known as their home.  Leaving the tree plain, bare, naked, exposed, it’s branches still reaching to the sky with the expectation and the hope that new life will come again soon.

I started to think about the part of the tree that I never see, it’s foundation, it’s root system.  For months it may seem as though all life has been robbed from that tree, but all the while the complex system of roots continues to grow deep into the soil soaking up nutrients and water to help it grow and flourish.

I think my life is sometimes like that tree.  I wear the seasons of my life like the leaves on a tree.  Sometimes I seem to thrive like the bright green leaves of the spring and summer.  Yet other times I am more like the brilliant colored leaves of the fall, putting out a beautiful cover to try to mask the inevitable “fall” that is about to occur.  Then still other times I seem to be the dead leaves that are tired of trying to cover up what is really underneath, so they fall and leave us there . . . plain, bare, naked, exposed . . . vulnerable.  Maybe that is where I find myself right now: the leaves are falling, and it is exposing a lot of anxiety, questions, doubts and uncertainty, and I’m frustrated because I’m seeking God in all of it, but I’m not hearing Him.  So, I feel vulnerable, and it isn’t fun.  I guess this is a good place … it’s where I am weak, and He is strong.  It is where I really have nothing to rely on except my foundation, and that is where I need to be.

I know it is in these times that I  can experience God’s love in its grandest form.  The grace of an all-knowing, all-powerful God reaches deeper into the soil of my life and gives the spiritual “nutrients” I need, and the living water I thirst for to keep me alive and growing.  In Him I have hope for new life and new growth.  Understanding that, there will be challenges in my Christian walk, and I will experience different seasons in my life.  But, I have found the source of life. . . my foundation is in the One who created me for His glory!

What season of life do you find yourself in right now?

p.s. I ran 3 more miles yesterday!

Comments
2 Responses to “Seasons…”
  1. daniel says:

    Dude….that is some deep,thoughtful and awesome stuff. Very transparent…I love that.

    I, on the other hand… am digging fall right now.

  2. Fran says:

    I am sure you younguns’ would say I am in the Winter — but I think Fall. I love the promises of Spring – but think that Fall also presents the promise of rest. A time to take stock and settle in to do all of the things I haven’t had time to do. A time to look back over the year – but also look forward to what is coming. A time to drop the dead wood in my life and look for new growth (no I am not talking about Gary).

Leave a Reply

