Fly fishing practice

Last year I entered a raffle for a free guided fly fishing trip.  When I found out I won, I knew I wanted to try to take my brother on the trip.  He had gotten a fly rod for Christmas, and I just thought it would be something fun to do together.

So anyway, Ty is a guy from my church who is also a fishing guide, and he is going to be our guide on our fishing trip, but since the amount of fly fishing experience between my brother and I is quite small, Ty offered to take us out ahead of the trip and do a little casting lesson.  So, yesterday afternoon, at Sequiota park in Springfield, we were casting fly rods!  The guys that know what they are doing really make it look easy . . . but it’s pretty involved.  Well, at least it’s quite a bit different than casting a regular spin rod.  Anyway, I think we’ve “learned enough to catch fish” in Ty’s words. I’ll let you know how the trip turns out after we go … I made the prediction yesterday that I would catch more fish than my brother …

What’s your favorite outdoors-ish activity?

Comments
One Response to “Fly fishing practice”
  1. Fran says:

    Sitting on the beach with a good book.

Leave a Reply

